1. Home
  2. Login
  3. Recent Orders
  4. Wish List
  5. View Basket
  6. Checkout

Secure payments processed by WorldPay & PayPal

Sorcerer's Apprentice

Sorcerer's Apprentice

Ref: n1272

Product type: Printed book

In stock

David Bronstein & Tom Furstenberg

Revised & expanded edition

In this modern chess classic David Bronstein, one of the greatest chess artists of all time shares his recollections from a long chess career, his thoughts about the future of the game and his insights in his wonderful games – 237 of them played between 1938 and 1996, a career spanning 58 years.

Bronstein was famous for the joy he derived from teaching the game and this spirit permeates his writings. His explanations and analyses are invariably lively and easy to understand for players of all levels who want to improve their chess. David Bronstein’s achievements and his legendary creativity have ensured him a unique position in chess history. He drew a match for the World Championship, won Soviet Championship twice and took first place in numerous international tournaments.

This revised and expanded edition, published two years after Bronstein passed away, contains a lot of new material and two moving In Memoriams, one by Bronstein’s widow Tatiana Boleslavskaya and one by his co-author and friend Tom Fürstenberg. The contents feature an interview with Bronstein, 140 photographs, 50 games with comments in the style of his book 200 Open Games, 40 combinations with explanations, 60 games with numerous diagrams and 70 games without notes.

Written in conjunction with Dutch amateur Tom Furstenberg who helped organise the material, this is an unconventional book, brimming with unique historical anecdotes, interesting stories and easy-to-understand teaching material.

Published 2009, softback, 384 pages.


Wishlist info

This product is included in our 10% discount offer for orders of 2 or more qualifying books, software items or DVD videos! (Discount will be calculated in the shopping basket)

People who bought this also bought:

Botvinnik v Bronstein 1951
Brilliant Chess Studies
Art Of The Endgame

Art Of The Endgame


Related products:

Secret Notes

Secret Notes

Bronstein: Move By Move
Botvinnik v Bronstein 1951

Please select next action

Go back orGo to wish list

Recently Viewed